My Musings and a Theory of Spirit

Disclaimer: I value every religion and would never try to convince anyone of what to think or believe. I have a high respect for Monothestics, Polytheistics, Pantheistics etc. This post is simply my own internal thoughts written down to help me discern truth from a hazy mess. I singled out Irish Deities and the Abrahamic Deity because I have the most experience with those.

A Theory of Spirit

Many thanks to @beardedboggen and @lifespath for helping stem the conversations for this essay.

Of the truths I seek, but will probably never know in their completeness, either due to lack of concrete information or lack of capability for understanding due to my human condition, are: What is the truth regarding spirit? Regarding gods? Regarding other deities? Regarding spirit guides? Regarding the human soul?  While Druidry tends to shy away from theology, and rightfully so, I have an incredible fascination with it and therefore cannot ignore it but must ponder it and continue to wrestle with these concepts in my own head (and in my own blogs!).

I think to see truth in a situation is more complicated than saying ‘the sky is blue’, it’s understanding the complexity of each viewpoint and acknowledging the steps, personalities and vantages that lead to one person saying the sky is blue and another to say the sky is orange and understanding that the sky itself is not a color but light reflections of molecules on the elements in higher stratospheres. I think all truth is relative to perception. One person may see the sky as blue and another as orange but they could simply be looking at different parts of the sky from different parts of the world.

There is pantheism which is a doctrine that equates God with the forces and laws of the universe (Merriam-Webster Dictionary) and an understanding that recognizes and respects all other gods as lesser gods to the Universe, which is god. Polytheistic is the belief that there is more than one god but tends to stick with a specific pantheon of gods within one culture (but not always) such as the Irish Pantheon or the Greek Pantheon etc. Atheistic is one who recognizes the idea of god but basically says “I have no fucking clue and neither do you.” I believe that I tend to be somewhere between Pantheistic and Polytheistic but neither truly suit my ideas so I’d like to propose adding another word to this list: Pandism. Pandism combines Pantheism with Deism, saying that the creator of the galaxies, “the source”, has neither form nor human qualities and ceased to exist as a separate and conscious entity, allowing lesser forms which take the shapes of gods or spirit guides etc to help mold the world and it’s inhabitants.

Unfortunately, we as humans tend to acknowledge certain aspects of the source of all magical energy (example: it’s power) and interpret that through our own mortal filters (ei: I must conquer my fellow man and obtain power in the name of this deity that I am looking at and I will name him ____ and he will be the god of might and masculinity and strife and I will conquer all in his name.) Thus resulting in wars and strife in the name of religion when all that was happening was that the human was tasting a bit of the power that is the source! Herein lies the problem with the current big religions: If my god is real and my god says he’s the only god then your god does not exist and you are without spiritual clout. Polytheism does not separate themselves from this downfall, just because you believe in multiple gods it does not extend that same latitude that pantheism does but can maintain the same closed feeling of monotheism. Therefore: my gods are real and your gods are not. Monotheism and Polytheism are in the same boat here, the only difference is the number of gods in which a person places their identity. While Pantheism and Pandism are open to every god being a god without bringing down another person for believing as they do.  The problem with this definition I have proposed lies in the neo-pagan traditions where one person can worship from multiple pantheons. Typically that is atypical for polytheists who traditionally chose to worship within one pantheon. However, practice must change with definitions. Just because one person worships from multiple pantheons doesn’t mean they believe there is an over-arching spirit, presence, or divine source. I believe they would still be considered polytheistic.

Now. That being said. I worship two gods right now, Danu (the great mother of the water in the irish celtic pantheon) and Cerunnos (who gets called a lot of things but to me he is simply the wild androgynous god of the hunt and nothing more than pure instinct and freedom). Those are my interpretations and I recognize my own imperfections in that interpretation, and I recognize their imperfections because they are not the source but a sliver of the source manifested in ways my human brain can comprehend: the power of water and the power of the forest. Humans will do what we can with what we have. I simply believe that it is imperative that we recognize our own short-comings and fallibilities and the short-comings of those that we agree to worship. Cerunnos would be a shit god looking after the breaking waves or the undercurrents of the ocean, he belongs to the forest and exemplifying the concept of freedom and instinct.
I was agnostic for many years and I think my current view of what god(esses)’s are and what they are made of is a sign of how far I have come in my own personal growth and made more clear by the context in which I was raised: under an infallible, omnipotent, omnipresent, omniscient Abrahamic god who was going to send me to hell because I liked to look at pictures of half-naked ladies. This idealism and interpretation of “god”, and my subsequent removal from that line of thinking was what birthed in me these thoughts that “we don’t know, we can never know, but we can respect what we don’t know and use it to help us grow.” Honestly, it’s amazing I didn’t reject every religion all together but I was hopeful that there was something out there a bit more logical.
Changing tracks of thought now: What makes a god? How is god defined? How can you know if a god is truly a god? Is it through similar experiences of people or can a god live in a Thing such as a tree or a rock and have no one know of it? If the essence of “god” is defined by 1: similar experiences and 2: lore from humans then the Christian god is a legitimate god and so is every other god I’ve heard of. There are thousands of followers of different gods who all have similar experiences and “feelings” from this same gods and who agree most fervently with each other regarding the aspects and views of this gods who believe that he is irrefutably and concretely real. There is no doubt in their minds of his existence just as there is no doubt in others mind that this or that god is not real and other their god is real.
They cannot both be correct, or maybe they both are wrong and the truth is that we create deities that represent different portions or aspects of ourselves and none of the gods are real? Maybe the idea that humans create deities is putting humans on too high a pedestal?
My thoughts will continue as will the ramblings of this essay…

Does intent have an energy of its own or is it simply a manipulating force?

I agree with the assumption that energy is neither created nor destroyed but transformed. First: How are we defining energy? Energy is spirit, the non-physical essence that makes us, us. If the energy of the human brain doing it’s thing creates thoughts, feelings and intent then that would make thoughts, feelings and intent a transformed energy. Intent would be an energy that is manipulated and changed through work by the human vessel. Most pagans & witches agree that intent is the power that makes magic happen, therefore intent, as a byproduct and transformed energy through the vessel (human, deity or fae) has the ability to do work on other energy. Energy manipulating energy to transform other energy. Ha!

For example: Just as water can become ice can become clouds can become rain can become oceans so is it just water molecules that have had work done upon them, so does energy come in many forms but at it’s core it is still just spirit energy.

Currently creating a Mindly Map to assist in my organization of “The Theory of Spirit.”

Leave a Reply

